Grandpa’s Bourbon Glazed Roast

I remember the first time my grandfather taught me something about food.

I was a small boy, staying with Gran and Gramps during one of my father’s holidays. After a meal I was about to scrape some leftovers from my plate into the bin when my grandfather stopped me.

“We don’t never put nothin’ to waste in this house,” he said shortly, and led me by the hand to the dog bucket. The bucket was where leftovers were put each day for my grandparent’s two dogs, Rough and Tumble.

“Never, ever, throw it away. If you’re not going to eat it, give it to the dogs. It’ll be their turn soon enough.”

And he was right. And so today’s recipe is for Bourbon Glazed Roastmeat.

Instructions

  1. Set your oven to a low heat, around 150°
  2. Pour 4 shots of bourbon in a shallow oven tray.
  3. After shaving the fur and removing the collar, season the meat as desired, set into the bourbon and wrap the tray in foil.
  4. Find something to do while the meat roasts for at least 3 hours. Whoever said watching paint dry was boring never sniffed the fumes.
  5. Take meat from the oven, remove the foil, and leave to cool to room temperature.
  6. After this time set the oven to 200°
  7. Separate as much of the fat from the meat as you can.
  8. Cut the remaining meat into dice-sized chunks and return the tray to the oven.
  9. Roast for a further half an hour, turning 2-3 times until crisp all over.
  10. In the time between turning the meat, set a pan over a medium heat. Add whatever condiments you have available, ketchup, honey, soy sauce, all of it. Add another couple of shots of the bourbon. If any remains in the bottle, it is to go down the drain before the devil tempt my grandfather and the rush of poison make him chunder evil liquids.
  11. Stir and raise the heat under the pan until the mixture is thick and bubbling. We are aiming for the consistency of syrup. Pour this over the meat for the last ten minutes in the oven.

Ingredients

  • 4 minibar sized bottles of bourbon or 125ml approx.
  • I kilo meat, fur removed
  • All condiments in cupboard

 

Leave a comment